Environmental Security Assessment: Congo Basin

The Congo Basin forest is the second largest contiguous moist tropical forest in the world. It plays a key role in securing the livelihoods of millions of Central African citizens. The forest supplies vital regional and worldwide ecological services.

From a global perspective the Congo Basin forest is especially important with respect to the huge and unique biodiversity (more than 10,000 species of plants, 1,000 species of birds and 400 species of mammals) and the climate-relevant functions of the largely intact tropical forest.

The Congo Basin forest is spread over the territory of six countries - Cameroon, Central African Republic, Republic of Congo, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea and the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

The IES and its partners have carried out an Environmental Security Assessment on the region. The main focus is on the Ngiri-Tumba-Mai Ndombe wetland, in the western part of the DRC, bordering the Republic of Congo.

Publication website ( PDF - www.envirosecurity.org )

Author(s)Patrice Yamba T. Kantu
PublisherInstitute for Environmental Security
Place publishedThe Hague
Date / Journal Vol No.December 2009
Pages110 pages

Scope Areas

Congo Basin 
Democratic Republic of Congo