Institute for Environmental Security

Advisory Council

The IES international Advisory Council gives guidance to ensure the faithful implementation of the Institute's stated objectives. Members serve in their personal capacities and not as representatives of their respective organisations.

  • Margaret Brusasco-Mackenzie, Chairperson
    Former Head, International Affairs and Adviser on Sustainable Development, Directorate-General for the Environment, European Commission / Former Faculty member IGEAT, ULB / Former Member, Prince of Wales Business and Environment Programme.
  • Marc Baltes
    Chief of the Cabinet of the Grand Duke of Luxembourg, Former Economic Advisor to the Prime Minister of Luxembourg / Former Deputy Co-ordinator OSCE Economic and Environmental Activities / Co-initiator of the Environment and Security Initiative (ENVSEC) / New York (UN) and Brussels (NATO, WEU) postings Luxembourg Ministry of Foreign Affairs / Former Co-ordinator UNCTAD TrainForTrade Project Asia/Pacific.
  • Liz Dowdeswell
    Lieutenant Governor of Ontario / Former Executive Director, UNEP / Visiting Professor at the University of Toronto / Associate Fellow, European Centre for Public Affairs / Formerly President, Nuclear Waste Management Organization (NWMO)
  • Ronald A. Kingham
    Co-founder and Former Director, IES / Executive Director, Stichting Environment & Development Resource Centre / Former European Co-ordinator, Transatlantic Environment Dialogue / Former Executive Director, International Coalition for Development Action
  • Gottfried Leibbrandt
    Former Treasurer, IES / Former Chairman, Stichting EuroCampus Institute / Former Director General for Higher Education and Research in The Netherlands Ministry of Education / Former (Founding) President of the Open University of The Netherlands
  • Marcel Leroy
    Former Head, Multilateral and Regional Affairs, NATO Secretariat, Brussels / Former Special Advisor for Multilateral Issues in Addis Ababa, European Commission, / Former Coordinator of the EU liaison office to African Union.
  • Ikaros Moushouttas
    Former Member, Policy Planning and Early Warning Unit, Council of the European Union / Former Senior Press Officer, Directorate-General Agriculture, European Commission / Former Diplomat, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Cyprus / Former Press Officer, UN Headquarters in Vienna
  • Derek Osborn
    Former President, Sustainable Development Observatory, European Economic and Social Committee / Former Director General, Environmental Protection, UK Department of the Environment / Former Co-Chair, 1997 UN General Assembly 5 year review of UNCED
  • Michael Renner
    Former, Senior Researcher-Director, Global Security Project, Worldwatch Institute / Member, Global Policy Forum Board / Member, International Advisory Board, The Hague Appeal for Peace / Member, International Advisory Group, Transnational Foundation for Peace and Future Research
  • Bernard Snoy et d'Oppuers
    Chairman, Robert Triffin International / Former Co-ordinator, OSCE Economic and Environmental Activities / Visiting Professor at the Institute of European Studies of the Catholic University of Louvain / Former Executive Director, World Bank and of the EBRD / Former Director of Table II of the Stability Pact for South Eastern Europe / Vice-Chairman of the International Robert Triffin Foundation
  • Tom Spencer
    Former Vice-Chairman, IES / Former Executive Director, European Centre for Public Affairs / Former President, GLOBE International / Former President of the EP Committee on Foreign Affairs, Security and Defence Policy (1997-1999)

Management Board

  • Wouter J. Veening, Chairman
    Co-founder, IES / Former Policy Director, Netherlands Committee for the IUCN / Co-founder and Head, Guiana Shield Initiative
  • J. Steven Lovink, Secretary / Treasurer
    Co-founder, IES / Founder and President of TransGlobal Ventures, Inc. / Senior advisor to the Guiana Shield Initiative / Author and managing partner of the Eco-Insurance Initiative / Co-founder Planet 2025 Network



  • Andrew Vincent Alder-LaRue, USA
  • Chad M. Briggs, USA
  • Serge Bronkhorst, The Netherlands
  • Carlo Clini, Italy
  • Tom Deligiannis, Canada
  • Géraud de Ville de Goyet, United Kingdom
  • Wybe Douma, The Netherlands
  • Rita Floyd, UK
  • Harris Gleckman, USA
  • Jeanna Hyde Hecker, The Netherlands
  • Jeannette E. Mullaart, The Netherlands
  • Philippe Rekacewicz, Norway
  • Gyorgy Tatar, Hungary
  • Patrice Yamba T. Kantu, Belgium 
  • Nasser Yassin, Lebanon

Associate Fellows

  • Roshan Balakrishnan, India
  • Cristina Cedillo, The Netherlands
  • Nishat Kazmi, Pakistan
  • Melody Rosdahl, France
  • Chantal Shalukoma, Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Maximilian Spiegelberg, Germany
  • Marcie Smith, USA
  • Jonathan Solomon, Germany
  • Tim Strupat, Germany
  • Selamawit Zewdu Yetemegn, The Netherlands
  • Yu Yin, China / Mekong Region


The following play the additional role of representing the institute around the world.

  • The Hague: Wouter J. Veening
  • Brussels: Ronald A. Kingham
  • London: Tom Spencer
  • Luxembourg: Marc Baltes
  • Addis Ababa: Marcel Leroy
  • Beirut: Nasser Yassin
  • Islamabad: Nishat Kazmi
  • California: Andrew Vincent Alder-LaRue
  • New York: Harris Gleckman
  • Toronto: Tom Deligiannis
  • Washington, DC: J. Steven Lovink